Why Mac?

Magnus

Hi, I've been working with Prepress for the last 20 years and since I started we've always been using Mac's at the Prepress departments. But in the last year I have a growing feeling that it might be better if we transitioned to Windows (11).

I can't think of any software that we use that is not compatible with Windows. And since we are using a lot of Microsoft products such as Teams, MS Dynamics BC, Windows file servers and various Azure solutions I think that Windows PC's would be a better choice.

We have a strong Mac-culture within our Prepress departments so I'm not sure that a transition to Windows will be met with happy cheers...

What's your take on Mac vs Win for Prepress work in this day and age?

I think it just comes to personal preference. I recognize flaws in both systems, and I have both in my office, but I prefer the Mac. That is probably largely because the Mac they bought was to my specs, while the PC is some cheesy throwaway business spec Dell.

I agree with @kslight, this is really up to personal preference. I currently use a Mac 70% of the time and Windows the other 30%
I personally feel that W11 has "dumbed" down the experience and that has made simple tasks a little harder to achieve.
I also feel that some MS products work BETTER in the Mac versions.

I use AppleScript quite a bit to automate desktop and InDesign tasks. Most, if not all of it, could probably be rebuilt in JavaScript or other language but I understand AppleScript way better than JavaScript.

Lots of reasons why the industry use macs and not gate box's
1, They just work. personally been using macs in pre-press for 30 years now, never had one fail.
2, Bosses like how they look
3. Status
4. Performance
5 Value for money
6. Less Virus issues
i could go on and on
main reason in the past for mac, would have been Fonts, but thats now gone.