Certification stickers

iganatz

Situation: boutique retouching studio, we service fashion and fine art photographers. Primary deliverables: SWOP, Fogra, and GRACoL proofs and files. Proofing system: GMG RIP, Epson 4900's with inline Spectroproofers.

We have a difficult new client who had an incredible list of demands for us to meet before they will send us advertising campaigns. We have been able to satisfy them on all issues but one: they're demanding that in addition to the IdeAllince color bars (which is standard on all our proofs LDO), we provide a "certification sticker" on the back of every proof. I've been working in boutique retouching for nearly 20 years, and this is the first time a request like this has occurred. I don't do ad releases or anything like that, we work only on loose imagery.

The agency through which we will be receiving work sent a photo of another vendor's sticker for our edification. It contains the name of the output profile (standard Fogra) followed by a list of measurements: average deltaE, max deltaE, primary (measured as deltaE), substrate (measured as deltaE), primary (measured as deltaH), and gray dH. After each item, it lists the tolerance for each and a check mark indicating that the proof measures within tolerance for each value and that the proof as a whole passes muster (in regards to these specs).

My question is, is this something that is standard in larger shops that have prepress departments? If so, is this something that I can have the GMG software perform in conjunction with the Spectroproofer or do we need to manually measure our color bars/charts with an external spectrophotometer?

Also, does this seem excessive to anyone? The point of the inline spectroproofing device seemed, at least to me, to save time and lessen the chance of human error when calibrating proofing systems. Am I uneducated in regards to this?

Cheers,

Adam Sanders