Die cutting machine for parking permits and possibly scoring

Kaylene

I work for a college. I am a graphic designer running the Design and Print Center. I was approached to see if I could start producing the college's parking permits (similar to a door hanger). These are printed on various colors of coverstock. I need to find a die cutting machine for this purpose (they order about 14,000 parking permits each year). I don't want to order the perforated variety that Xerox sells and spend tons of time punching them out.

I noticed that some die cutters can also score or perforate, which would be nice since I print quite a bit of notecards, etc. - but this is not a requirement.

I'd like to be able to find other products I can create with the die cutter too. I need something that is not incredibly costly (under $5000 if possible). I am just at a loss of exactly what I need without going overboard.

I would appreciate any assistance you can give me. Thanks!

Hi Kaylene and welcome to the forum.
A digital die cutter will give you the greatest flexibility, with die cutting, kiss cutting and scoring capabilities. Look at the Vivid Veloblade and Duplo PFI-blade products. You will need to increase your budget though.
Alternatively, a rotary die cutter may be suitable and more friendly to your budget, if you are always cutting the same shapes.

Classic problem.
If you spend $10,000 today and run 15,000 permits - the first year they cost you 0.66 each - to die cut.
If you spend $10,000 toady and run 15,000 permits for 5 years they cost 0.13 per permit - to die cut.
So maybe the BEST option is to NOT spend $10,000 and partner with a 'local' print shop to do the die cutting.
Just my 0.02 worth. But the math and the ROI equation won't lie. Make a decision and get your work done.
:)

Classic problem.
If you spend $10,000 today and run 15,000 permits - the first year they cost you 0.66 each - to die cut.