Dot Gain in Photoshop

marc3llo

Hi to everyone, I am not new at the forum but this is my first time posting something.

I am confused with dot gain in Photoshop. And the question is, if I am converting my image from one profile to another or rgb to cmyk, Do I have to compensate the image with the dot gain % in Photoshop? What about if later on I send my job to the rip and apply my compensantion curve that I ´ve got trough a fingerprint? Will I have a double compensation? Or should I set my dot gain % in Photoshop to 0% because, later on I am going to apply via rip? Can someone explain this?

Thanks a lot!

Marcelo

Assigning a profile will not change the values, only the appearance on screen (and potentially how the image is converted later if the profile is saved with the image and, e.g., your RIP is configured to honor embedded profiles and perform conversions based on them). If you edit an image, it is best to first assign the most accurate profile available so you have the best preview of the final result.

Converting to a profile, rather than assigning, preserves the appearance by adjusting the values so that the appearance in the new profile matches the appearance in the old profile. This is best for when an image looks fine as-is, but is assigned a profile that will not match the final result.

You will only get redundant conversion if your RIP is configured to automatically perform the same conversion you manually apply to images.

By "dot gain in Photoshop," you could be referring either to Photoshop's default grayscale profiles, or the parameter in the custom CMYK profile creation feature, which I don't think that many people use except to control black generation. If you are referring to custom CMYK profiles, as with grayscale, you are only changing the values if you convert rather than assign.