How do you select your paper?

sputnik

Hi,

I'm a newbie in the printing world, and came across some issue with one of my teachers.

I have been told that papers are managed according to their weight, so when planning/quoting a brochure, papers are chosen based on the weight. For example, some coated glossy 90 Text for the inside and some coated glossy 120 Cover for, well, the cover.

However, the few print shops I visited all selected cover stocks according to the thickness. So the previous brochure would still have the coated glossy 90 Text inside, but a 12 points coated glossy for the cover.

As my teacher and I couldn't manage to get a real-world answer to this, I'm asking you: Do you select your cover stocks based on their weight or on their thickness?

TIA

the nice thing about saying 12pt is you know how thick it is with some degree of certainty.
with gsm nobody knows if its a dense or puffy 80#. you know what it weighs but not its thickness.

In my experience the decision to market the sheet based on thickness or weight is up to the mill that creates the sheet. Most sheets that are specified by the thickness of the stock are not very dense (being considered "light" or "ultra-Light") stock. However their thickness gives them a similar feel and characteristics to heavier weight stocks. For this reason the mill has chosen to market the sheet based upon it's thickness to give buyers a better idea of the actual "real-world" feel and characteristics of the sheet.

For example a Carolina 12pt C1S sheet may only weight in as a 70# cover sheet but is about the same thickness as most 100# cover sheets and hence behaves more like a 100# sheet on press and when finishing.

Hi Sputnik,

Both of the above answers are correct. I will add my thoughts.
Jotterpinky is right in that the mills market their sheets based on industry standards.
The industry as a whole tends to sell paper by weight. Common "Imperial" basis weights are
Text: 50# - 60# - 70# - 80# and 100#