Is it possible to run Harlequin workflow with a PC (temporarily)?

Scotula69

The power supply to our Dell Power Edge 1600 SC died. We received the wrong part and this is our second day with no way of imaging plates. Can we use a PC briefly to get by. We use a Dell Power Edge 1600 SC, Harlequin 7.2, and a Screen Plate Rite 8100. I have been in pre-press for nineteen years and went digital in 2003 but I have no experience with server hardware. Plus previous employers had service contracts and I have only been with this company for a few months and am still somewhat in the dark about specifics.

Thanks for any information.

PC Problems

PC Problems

Hi Scotula69

Depending on the specs of the other PC it could be done. It will definately take some time. You would have to install the software on the other system, set up your network settings, create your folders. Then you would have test exposure, and creat calibration set for each plate size. If the new part is coming in tommorrow I would try to hold off.

Tommy B

Thank you Tommy B,

Waiting was my idea as well and fortunately we were able to use the power supply we received, so we are imaging plates again. That's the problem with used equipment and no service contract when things go wrong.

Run the backup.ps file periodically. Best to do before you change the configuration, update the software, etc. It will build a complete backup of the RIP settings so that you can go to a new HQ RIP and "print" the backup.ps file and the configuration will be restored. I think that there is a font.ps file too that backs up all the fonts installed on the RIP. Really, really, really handy for backing up and restoring HQ RIP's.