media wedge & spots on color proofs

Dario

Hi all!
I'm dealing with a repro house that tells me it does not print the media wedge on CMYK color proofs because it does not print them using the "standard" profile (but what standard??) but a custom profile.
Does this sound right to you?
According to Fogra:
Its colour values must correspond to the reference values of the printing conditions, as specified in the standardisation series ISO 12647, or the tolerances for the proofing process for digital data, as specified in ISO 12647-7 or ISO 12647-8 (Validation Print).
...so maybe it's right, but I'm no expert and ask: "couldn't you print the media wedge accordingly to the custom profile?"
(Also: how do I know the color proof is good if I can't measure anything?)

This repro also tells me that it cannot simulate spot colors on proof using the custom color profile, but only using the "standard" one.

Now... I am not an expert, but it seems strange to me - if you don't use the Fogra39 (or what else) you cannot measure or certify anything?

What do you guys think about all that?
Could you kindly help me to reply their claims and helping both them and me print the media wedge and spot colors in a way to have better color proofs?

Any CMYK profile can be proofed and verified, regardless of whether it is a standard or not.

To check if a proof matches a specific CMYK profile, you need to have the ICC-profile that corresponds to it, some kind of media wedge, appropriate software and measurement device. The ICC-profile contains a table of CMYK values and their equivalent Lab values so you don't need any other target values to make the comparison.

A certified print proof must meet certain criteria, otherwise it is not valid and should not be used as a proof. The minimum requirements are (the repro house seems to fail them all):

• The proof must have a color wedge for verification and measurement