Printer Advice

rbritton

Hi Friends:

I have been working for the past four years at a small non-profit. I'm a IT Director by profession, an artist, too. I started four years ago doing IT work, but also fell into doing Graphics Design. I wouldn't consider myself an expert, but I've learned a lot and do so many well-designed and wide-variety of pieces now. I love it, really. It's the perfect career combination, mixing all my skills.

Anyways...I'm looking for some advice really. Read on if you have a moment to offer a brother in need of some guidance.

We do a ton of printing in house on a Konica Minolta C364e for our products and materials. These are mostly saddle-stitched books (8.5"x11" and 5.5" x 11"), guides, brochures / flyers, postcard mailers, etc. We print JIT. I'm not sure really what our total annualized volume is, but it's probably < 200,000 per year. Our per click costs for a B&W are .015 and color is .094, 8.5" x 11". The lease we have on this bad boy is now in month to month. We do not have a FIERY RIP, so my ability to do color management or other advanced processing in house is quite limited. Our setup is pretty basic in terms of hardware: We have the main C364e (used mainly for printing, but some office document scanning/copying) a couple extra paper trays and a finisher that staples, three hole punches, and folds.