Recurring spot pattern on newspaper pages

James44

Hello, first time poster here. Also, I am not a press worker, but a researcher.
I have found old newspaper issues with "spots" on them, the same spots, usually in a similar position, across multiple issues of the same newspaper. I call them "spots" because they are areas with the printed ink missing. The "spots" also go through to the underlying page, but to a smaller effect. For example, a paper with a spot on page 3, has a smaller version of the spot on page 4. There are several issues where these same spots appear in the same position. A friend of mine who worked in newspapers said it sounded like a damaged blanket. I think the paper was printed on a Goss.
I have no experience with presses, any ideas about this? Here are examples of 2 pages on the same piece of paper. View attachment 292417View attachment 292418
Thanks in advance!
newspaperSpot01.jpg
newspaperSpot02.jpg

Most modern newspaper press use web offset (cold-set) lithography.
The ink transfer from the plate (metal) to the blanket (rubber) then to the paper.
If the rubber blanket is damaged, sunken inward, it will not transfer ink from plate or to paper. This is often called a smash or ding.

Most modern newspaper press use web offset (cold-set) lithography.
The ink transfer from the plate (metal) to the blanket (rubber) then to the paper.
If the rubber blanket is damaged, sunken inward, it will not transfer ink from plate or to paper. This is often called a smash or ding.
Thank you for your response. I'm not clear on why a blanket smash puts a mark on both sides of the paper.

Thank you for your response. I'm not clear on why a blanket smash puts a mark on both sides of the paper.