Sales vs Production: Sales strikes back!

Michael Josefowicz

Hi I'm a newbie and have been looking through the forums. I forget which one but I found this:

"Our sales schleps are so lazy that they don't even call the client to get printing specs anymore... just send the files to prepress and have them preflight it and tell us what's on the disk. Refresh my memory, but what the hell does a sales rep actually do? They don't pick up files anymore, they don't deliver proofs now that their atrophied brains have figured out what a PDF can do, they don't do press checks unless they're right after lunch which is usually when they drag their lazy carcasses into work, and they don't deliver the printing when it's done! Call me crazy, but I think I could do that too!"

I spent 30 years as a Sc*&mbag printing broker, so I've seen this attitude, not stated so honestly, again and again and again. It's the old sales/production thing.

Now that I have a little time, and this forum sounds like real people solving real problems, i think it's time to strike back.

So . . . dear friends in production:
The sales process and the sales and CSR's who manage that process are the only people who bring in money. Everyone else is spending money. Sorry, but that "lazy sales schleps" are paying everyone's salary.

Then us revenue generators :) have to listen to sutff like:

"They don't pick up files anymore, they don't deliver proofs now that their atrophied brains have figured out what a PDF can do, they don't do press checks unless they're right after lunch which is usually when they drag their lazy carcasses into work, and they don't deliver the printing when it's done!"