Seeking advice on entry level production press

analog502

I am a novice in the digital press / copier world and seeking some advice. I have been running a Ricoh C5100S for a couple years. It’s mediocre. I got it cheap from a liquidation, and it’s never been serviced since I got it.

I am ready to get a machine that can reliably print clean, high quality images. Speed does not matter at all as volume will be low. Image quality is extremely important, and I want something with Fiery or equivalent. I would like to be able to print on fairly heavy stocks as well without a lot of trouble (~ 270gsm).

So far I am talking with reps about C5200S, C5300S, and the KM 4065. The only inline capability I really need is a booklet finisher, although could consider offline.

Alternatively, Ricoh says I could pay them a bunch of money to come out and get my C5100 ‘up to spec’ and then they ‘might’ be able to put it on a service contract. I’m assuming this is probably not the best route with the age of the machine, but the benefit is I already own it and could avoid lease terms. FWIW the C5100 has about 800k clicks for color and another 800k B&W.

Anyway, if anyone would like to share recommendations, it would be greatly appreciated. Thanks!

If you take the in-line finishing route, I'd get the C4070 instead of the C4065. This is because with the C4065 you are limited to an FS-532 finisher with the lightweight SD-510 booklet maker. Whereas with the C4070 / C4080, there is a range of heavier duty in-line finishing and trimming options. The engine doesn't cost a lot more, so you're just future proofing options.

Personally however, I'd strongly recommend your other consideration and take booklet making offline, as the decent in-line kit is expensive and is tied to one engine. Whereas a good offline booklet maker will outlive a print engine many times over and carry a good residual value.