Suprasetter 105 "new user" questions

rpl1991

Hi all
Our company recently bought the suprasetter 105, it supposed to be installed at the
end of Feb. 2010. I am quite new to this technology, at the moment I am using a ultre 5800 imagesetter and our quality is not where it should be. I frequently check and calibrate if necessary the film that is being used and sometimes I have changed films over the years for better exposure etc.. I have spoken with the technician from our heidelberg agent and I mentioned a densitometer to measure plates, I was told that I dont need any, that he alone calibrates the machine and will check on the calibration every 6 months, is this the right method or does the user supposed to be trained by the technician to manage the calibartion. What if we decide to use a plate other than the Saphira plates which are recommended by Heidelbergh, does the tech from heidelbergh have to recalibarte the CTP for that particular plate? I have had some issues with the tech guy in recent years where he has shown no interest in servicing our imagesetter, always claiming that the machine is outdated and so on. I hope he does not say that to us in a couple years when we need service for this new CTP.

Can any one share their training experience before using this machine.

Sorry for the long post

Jaime

not sure whether heidelberg would be happy about this or not but whenever we have changed plates the plate supplier has sent in thei techs to recalibrate.

Hi all
Our company recently bought the suprasetter 105, it supposed to be installed at the