What to look for in a used Ryobi 3302

robbg439

Hello,

I run a small offset shop/bindery that is part of a nonprofit arts exhibition space in Portland, OR. I run mostly one and two color jobs, occasional 4-color work–stuff like invitations, posters and catalogs for our shows, as well as illustrated artists books that are made in collaboration with artists. We also have letterpress equipment, and a 1905 smyth sewing machine that I nursed back to health. The vibe is small and scrappy, but we are able to produce some cool stuff. If you're interested my press is at Info : Container Corps and the larger nonprofit is at yaleunion.org

Anyway, I've been running an A3 hamada press (611ECD) for about 6 years, using mostly poly plates imaged on an HP 5100, with occasional outsourced metal plates when needed. I'm ready to expand to a two color press that can use my current platemaking workflow, and it seems like a used Ryobi 3302 is the way to go. They seem to come up fairly often for sale, and some at relatively good prices. I'm excited by the 3 ink form rollers (my hamada only has 2), and obviously being able to do 2 colors at one pass would be life changing. Seems like the register is more refined as well. My question is, what are the important things I should be looking for? I know I want crestline (what I'm used to) or kompac dampeners. But is there anything else that I should consider a deal-breaker when looking at these previously owned presses?

Thanks a lot!

Hi: I am at six years on a 3302. Kompacs, with console control. So a 3302 M. The other model has a vertical controles. Sorry if this is not so clear to you. But that is a difference. They both have the univeral feed table. And possibe variants with plate clamp. Its the work horse of the industry. hope this helps.

The 3302 comes in 3 flavors. The older ones are 3302M, The newer ones are 3302H and the present one is a 3302C.