When would you want to flatten transparency in a PDF?

Macmann

I am new to the Esko suite of prepress software and I noticed that in Backstage Pilot, in the ticket settings you can check a box to flatten transparency. When would you want to do this? It seems that most of the headaches in a PDF workflow are when the client provides a flattened file.

Last edited:
The only time I would ever want to flatten a PDF prematurely would be if it won't RIP as is, or if I was getting results that didn't look right for some reason.

You might want to flatten transparency if you want to make use of (heavy) GCR or devicelink profiles.

I agree with Dan, this option is useful if your RIP does not interpret transparencies correctly, or when it takes too much time processing them. To avoid this situation you better flatten before. In the case you always have to edit the normalized PDFs and make some kind of corrections, I agree with you sometimes it is a headache, but I am not with you that most of the headaches in a PDF workflow are when the client provides a flattened file. All the contrary, if the incoming file is a Print-Ready file and at the same time it is PDF/X-1a:2001 compliant, you shouldn't have any problems related to transparencies, because they are restricted (not supported) and have been flattened on the PDF creation process.

BTW, If you upgrade BackStage Pilot to Esko Automation Engine (Suite12) you will realize that you don't have this option available anymore in the normalisation ticket.

Last edited:
Thanks to all for your quick responses. It's interesting that Esko removed the flatten check box. I look forward to our upgrade. As far as getting a print-ready pdf, I have not been to this Xanadu you speak of. wink

Thanks to all for your quick responses. It's interesting that Esko removed the flatten check box. I look forward to our upgrade. As far as getting a print-ready pdf, I have not been to this Xanadu you speak of. wink