Advice on starting my own small business

RBSN

Hello all,

I'm a new member to the forum so firstly I would like to say hello to all other forum users and to everyone involoved in the (fascinating) world of print! So I guess I should say a little about myself?

My name is Lee, i'm 27 years old. I currently work for a branded division of a seemingly well known company called Chesapeake (or at least they are known in the United Kingdom) I served a 3-year advanced apprenticeship in 'Carton Manufactoring' My area of skill is running, making ready and general operator duties on both large and small format BOBST die,cut and crease machines. (102CER, 104, 142, CE) As a young operator I am applying myself outside of work to learn LEAN Six Sigma and other knowledgeable, helpful qualifications.

So that's a little bit about myself.

I was wondering if it would be possible to ask some advice on starting a small[i/] business. Alot of people seem to tell me the same thing; it wont work, no money is in print anymore, you're too young and so on...is this good advice?

I am wanting to build a small business, possibly using Crosland cut and crease hand-platen (-s eventually) Could someone explain the energy prices to run a platen, what other costs I can expect and how much money I need behind me to make this work?

All advice is welcome and thank you for your time.

Regards
Lee

I was wondering if it would be possible to ask some advice on starting a small[i/] business. Alot of people seem to tell me the same thing; it wont work, no money is in print anymore, you're too young and so on...is this good advice?

No, not good advice.

Way before you think about equipment you need to think about the market.
For example:
Is there are market, or market demand, for the services you want to provide?
Are the services already being provided. If not why not. If so, how will you compete against the existing service providers?
If you start the business, how will you attract customers?