Arizona 1260GT - Does it need periodic calibration?

BlueDart

I'm a new member here so please pardon if this post is in the wrong place.

Just started working at a new job with an Arizona 1260GT UV printer using an ONYX RIP. My previous experience is prepress, inkjet, and digital printers with a ton of commercial sheetfed thrown in. This is my first time using a machine of this size using UV curable inks. It's a CMYKww configuration.

In my former jobs I would calibrate my printers every morning, the digital printers seemed to drift fairly quick so keeping them balanced was a top priority. Now that I'm running this new printer at a new job I'm wondering if I need to worry about calibrating the printer or are the profiles we've been using since install good enough?

This Arizona is a new tech and new experience for me. I've asked the person training me and I was told that we do not calibrate the printer but that just seems weird to me. Does the Arizona drift or is it some sort of print process that doesn't need to be calibrated?

Reading the Operator Manual calibration only seems to be for new substrates to create a profile. Makes sense but I'm not sure I want to go digging around our RIP server and possibly screw something up. I'm new and I don't want to rock the boat too much but it's really bugging me that I'm not sure my printer is color accurate.

Any ideas? I understand that there could be a really obvious answer that I'm just too dense to find.

Thanks in advance!

Hello BD,

Most UV printers, that I am aware of, do not need daily calibration. They are fairly stable, provided you keep up on the, daily, weekly and monthly head maintenance. Also, the word calibration is not used with these machines, profiling is. That said, if you change a printhead or two or change the voltage that fires the ink, a new profile may be needed.