Color Management For Digital Press

tommrz

Hello All-
I am NEW to color management so forgive me if I ask odd questions. First let me explain my situation. I work for a flexo label printer who has recently installed a Xeikon 3300 digital press. We have decided on taking the route of pushing our digital press into the flexo press color space. Keep in mind that 95% of our work is PMS. We print mostly prime labels. The press is in and up and running. We are now moving on to color management. We have Monaco Profiler along with Color Port and I am using ProfileMakers Color Picker to calculate the cmyk builds for pms colors. So far we have profiled around 12 stocks each with a profile for lamination and UV Varnish. So 24 targets total, more or less. We have 4 flexo profiles we are using to push the Xeikon profiles to using Device Link. These "emulation profiles" were taken from our flexo presses and here again we have 2 for paper stocks and 2 for clear stocks depending on the coating. We have yet to do any real testing on this and I am not sure how solid our profiles are and what type of results to expect. I think our main problem is going to be our clear stocks. We have already noticed some density issues on the IT8 targets we are getting from the press. Also, some of our clear stocks have a craft paper liner and some have a white paper liner and some have a clear liner. I am not sure if or how this is skewing the targets when scanned.
If any of you experienced folks out there could take a look at the above and give me any suggestions it would be greatly appreciated.
I guess I am just looking for some feedback for now. I have read through many threads on this forum and it looks like you guys know what you are doing.
Sorry about writing a book here...
Tom