Digital Press Leases

Fyshy

Hello. Thought I would lean on the vast experience on this forum regarding machine leases. I have only had one in our business so I’m still learning. Our present V80 lease has 24 more months... a proposal was recently given to me to replace the V80 with a V180... less base monthly rate than we now pay, less click charge rate, and payoff present lease. Seems like a good deal that will save us appx $500 a month.
What other factors should I consider?
Thanks

3 Other factors off the top of my head:
1. Guaranteed Base Monthly Copy Counts? (Minimum charge)
2. 'Possible' rate increases over the life of the lease?
3. Read the contract VERY carefully and/or have a lawyer check it as I am sure the lease company had THEIR lawyer look at it.

Are they giving you the same features? Same type of Fiery? It seems quite odd that they can give you a new machine, and payoff 24mo of the old lease for less than the original machine. Does that mean they ripped you off the first time? Are they giving you a used/refurb/showroom unit to achieve this? I have seen this done many times when there is only less than 6mo remaining on the lease and there is some great promo interest rates, but not 24. Are they making it a longer than usual lease term...stretching it to 72mo for example? I also agree with @chriscozi that you should check into the locking of the click rates to make sure they aren't giving you introductory rates that will increase after the first year. It should be stated in writing on the contract that they are locked for 36mo, or however long, and raised x% after year x. Be careful to also watch out for step leases where they give you a low payment the first 6 or 12mo, then increase the remainder. And lastly, watch out for a base service charge that you are required to pay even if you don't run the machine one month.