Digital printer looking to take on litho

Klew

Hi guys

i am a digital printer with various machines from canons to konica minolta!
Business is booming and would like to make a move into the litho market.
Im currently farming all my long runs out to a local litho printer.

I am new to litho but would like to purchase a entry level 4 color press at a resonable price,
i have read about DI machine as they only need 1 operater (is this true?). This works out for me as i know a pressman that has just lost his job and would be perfect for our company!
I have also read about conven. pressess but how many staff would i need to run the ctp and press etc?

Would be running between 2000 - 8000 SRA3 (17" x 12"? I think that right) sheets daily.

Any advice on what type of press is needed would be great!

Many thanks
klew

Last edited:
question

question

When you say DI do you mean the one sold by Presstek? Or the other better choices to print real high quality litho?

OG

A DI made by Heidelberg or Presstek is designed to be run by just one person, if that printer has some computer knowlege then all the better.

The Heidelberg DI is no longer manufactured (but fully suported) and is very good value on the secondhand market especially as a first DI machine, and the amount of paper you would be running daily would justify looking at this type of machine.
With the DI the job could be loaded onto the RIP (or sent via a network) and then sent straight to press to be imaged and then printed.
The plate consumable price is now quite cheap costing about £3.50 per plate, with 36 plates on a roll and 4 rolls in a box. It takes approx (depending on the machine) about 8 minutes to image and clean the plates.
The DPI / LPI is very good quality and for general 4 colour work you would not see the differences between a DI and a general 4 colour conventional litho machine using CTP apart from the additional extra costs which are involved (ie extra manpower, space, chemicals).