Do CMYK builds have to be in 5% increments?

HarveyDunn

Hello, I'm a designer working on a color critical project. I'm using the GRACoL2006 profile for color management.

Today's question: do CMYK builds have to be in 5% increments? My understanding is that modern technology has moved on, and that builds can be in 1% steps, although it is best if you avoid 1%, 2%, 98% and 99% dots. The former will drop out, the latter will fill in. But numbers between 3% and 97% will be respected. However, I was at a service bureau today, and the guy there, who knows a lot about color, questioned whether I've got my fact right. The fact that the Pantone guides still move in 5% steps was brought up as a datapoint suggestive of the possibility that while you can ASK for 63%, 18%, 32%, etc., you should not be surprised if what you actually GET is 65%, 20%, 30%. In other words, always round to the nearest number divisible by 5.

To the best of my knowledge the simple answer is no - they can be any percentage including numbers like 12.45. That said, it will mostly be determined by the accuracy of your output device, if your going to film it won't be as good as direct to plate and the calibration of the output device will be critical. I remember years ago when an area printer went to a new ctp device they were so excited by being able to control their dot to a .5% increment - they said that they had almost stopped using tint varnishes and were just using cmyk builds. We have a heidelberg prosetter and can control our dot at least to a 1% accuracy.

I think that halftones would really look ugly if they could only reproduce dots in 5% steps . . . . .:D

"they can be any percentage including numbers like 12.45."

Is that why Adobe products like InDesign show LAB- or RGB-to-CMYK conversions with two decimal points?

Today's question: do CMYK builds have to be in 5% increments?

No. You can specify whatever percent you want.