Font Issues

vaugh6288

Hello,

I am new to design and I am working for a small digital print shop with 3 other designers. Everyone but myself is working on new Mac Pro machines mostly in InDesign and Quark to check files and prep jobs for print. I am on a PC and use Suitcase Fusion3 as my font management system. I have a problem. When I go to our pre-press server (Kodak Prinergy) to access customer files from programs like Indesign I can see font files, but they are "0 KB" and I cannot do anything with them. My PC will not recognize them. I have tried downloading font converters like crossfont but even they cannot recognize these font files. But I can logon to a Mac workstation and use the same font files with no trouble. Does anyone have any suggestions on how I can get my PC to see these files correctly?

Any help would be appreciated

Preflight with FlightCheck

Preflight with FlightCheck

Not all fonts are cross-platform. Only OpenType fonts will work or run natively under both Mac and Windows. I am guessing that is why you cannot use what are likely Mac fonts on your PC. Strange the size though.

@ davidmwe "Strange the size though."
Not really; Mac's resource fork is the reason. I've unzipped a hundred Mac packaged folders and the font size is always listed zero (or 1kb).

Only OpenType fonts are truly cross compatible.

You'll be much better served sticking to native Win files on that PC although I open Mac files on a PC regularily, I have authority to make minor revisions, you may not; a mix of Mac & Win is an advantage in your shop.

FWIW, ID CS5's document fonts feature is going to be a big help if I ever upgrade there. (Fonts within the document files folder which cannot be loaded into the OS will be available to ID on a document by document basis; so no more activating Helvetica TT vs Helvetica Type 1 all afternoon)