How to establish ISO 12647 based quality control?

yk_chin86

Hi,
I am new to this field and currently our company is trying to establish ISO 12647 based quality control.

Currently our quality control is based on density measurement and visual inspection by printers (which in my perspective is very bias).

It is possible to establish quality control on printing based on ISO criteria such as Lab?

We are running on offset.

Kindly advise.

YK Chin

There are several QC software based on the media wedge. For density check are you using an auto scanner or manual spot measurements? In Gordo's blog there are some great articles that shed a light on what you can and what you cannot expect with density control, though just changing to Lab will not circumvent those problems.
It may help to look at it as two levels of quality control. The daily monitoring of production, which should be with a tool that the printer is well aquainted with. Second the monitoring of the process, which is done with routine checks using a media wedge or some other patch chart (measured in Lab).

There are several QC software based on the media wedge. For density check are you using an auto scanner or manual spot measurements? In Gordo's blog there are some great articles that shed a light on what you can and what you cannot expect with density control, though just changing to Lab will not circumvent those problems.
It may help to look at it as two levels of quality control. The daily monitoring of production, which should be with a tool that the printer is well aquainted with. Second the monitoring of the process, which is done with routine checks using a media wedge or some other patch chart (measured in Lab).

Dear Lukas,