newb here...

ang7399

Hi all, I am new here (and to the wide format industry). I have an extensive print (digital and press/offset) bakground, but this is my 1st job as a full time wide format printer. I am a graphic designer, and I know enough to get me by on day to day stuff, but when it comes to problems, I don't really know where to start when I have an issue. Mostly due to lack of knowledge.

Anyways, I am having an issue with my printer. I use a Roland SC 540 with eco sol max inks. My biggest problem right now is tradeshow media. I have been using Lexjet products, a 12 mil pvc (for the printed part) and a15 mil PreLume Display Flex over lam. (very expensive :()

I print at a temp of 35 F (on my printer) and an external temp of 80 F. I wait 2 days (minimum) before laminating, and another 24 hrs after laminating before I trim, then another 2 hours after trimming before I package (during wait time, they lie flat).

When I tape the media to the take-up reel, I've noticed after I am done and take the print off, that there are lines where ink is missing, almost like the print scratched itself and removed the ink. To remedy that I instead of taping in small sections, I put a long strip of tape across the media. That's better now I guess, its a pain, but at least I'm not wasting my 1st print.

But I guess my biggest issue is that once I go to laminate the prints, after it comes out I notice bubbles under the lam. I know that some of them are dust (even though I use a tack cloth/cheese cloth to remove as much as I can), but some of them are just air bubbles and will not lay flat. Running it back through doesn't help. I even use a sled when laminating to get the best even pressure across the board. I have followed the instructions for the media and laminate to a 't' and I am still having problems. I was hoping that someone here might be able to help me?

Thanks! (sorry its so wordy! :eek:)
-Ang