Plates Not Holding Ink properly

We use Agfa LAP-V plates run through a Raptor Pro85s plate processor that is badly in need of new rollers. My co-worker keeps the machine clean, but lately we have had the issue where the plates come out looking not so great with a wavy look to them - for example on the left of the plate the 100% blocks on the color bar look darker than in the middle of the plate, but our reading is that they are 100% all the way across the plate. Once the plates are on the press, my pressman has to run very heavy ink coverage to make the final product look acceptable. We are still up and running, but it is causing my pressmen to be very angry and I don't like it all. Forgive me, I am not an expert in the plate processing department so any answer needs to be dumbed down for me to understand. I have called for service but like to know what I am dealing with before having a service tech come out. Any ideas of what our problem is would be helpful!

Our company uses the same AGFA set up. There maybe two problems. 1) check the lazer intensity. Make sure the 50% are comming out at 50%, + or - 1 or 2 %. 2) Clean the mirrors!! This is most likely to create that problem.

If the wavy appearance got worse over a short period of time e.g. hours, max. next day you should do a quick chemistry change before the service rep arrives on site. And yes, a good cleaning of the optics may be required - that would explain the left to side variation, whereas waviness and front to back uniformity on plate is usually caused by chemistry and/or processor drive system (check rollers pressure etc.). Hope it helps.

Cleaning the Hoses

Cleaning the Hoses