preserving Vector Text when converting psd to pdf

bunge

I'm doing a friend a favor and have never had to do anything prepress related. My question is the printer I'm working with would like a PDF with vector text, is there a way to do this from a psd document, I'm using Photoshop CS2. It seems like everytime I convert to a PDF my text is rastorized. Will converting the text to a shape before output do it, or is there a different way? I know to do the work I"m doing I should be using Illustrator unfortunately I only have photoshop and to compound matters I'm relatively new to that. Any help would greatly be appreciated.

Re: preserving Vector Text when converting psd to pdf

How about File->Save As->Photoshop PDF? That's how you should be making ALL your PDFs from Photoshop.

Leonard

That's exactly what I was doing and the printer said it was all coming across as rastor text. Maybe something in my settings?

Maintaining text as text and vectors as vectors in "save as PDF" from Photoshop requires that you NOT flattent the layers before saving? Did you flatten the layers?

A quick test of whether you succeeded would be to immediately open the "save as PDF" file in Acrobat and use CTRL-D to see whether any fonts are listed. If so, then in fact the save operation was successful. If not, then it failed for whatever reason. Again, the primary reason for failure to preserve text and vectors would be if you flattened the layers or converted the text and vector layers to raster before saving.

- Dov

One thing that will effect your text is if you have any layer effects or drop shadows being applied to the text. Photoshop can't maintain the Vector text and the special effects when exporting, so it Rasterizes the text.

i usually print to a postscript from the photoshop psd then distill the postscript, i find keeps the text vector!

hope this helps

Another thing:

You can not use Faux Bold or Italic - or anything.
You need to use the actual font
or the text will rasterize.