Printhead problems on HP Z-series

SKenty

Somewhere recently I saw a discussion about banding on the Z6100. I have a similar problem, in that the banding starts part way thru the print, on both my Z6100 and Z3100. Diagnostic print shows no printhead fault, printheads are in warranty. This is a recurring problem and even happens with NEW printheads. Thewe printers are only a year old. HP doesn't have a solution, only to keep sending new printheads. Anybody have a REAL solution??? Please and Thanks!

So saying:
Printhead nozzles - OK, not clogged.
Paper moving - probably.
In case of Mutoh units aka AGFA Sherpa, roller couplings gave us a lot of headache.
I'm not an expert in HP, sorry.

Me Too

Me Too

I've seen the same thing happen with our 2100. Recently had to run 60 prints with heavy coverage, first 50 ran with no problem but the last 10 were a pain. Printer would start out fine and then have banding where the cyan seemed to drop out. Anyone know what's causing it?

Monkey

A few ideas.

Print the test prints to see if one specific head is at fault. Sometimes heads can be close to the end of their life and still show problems. HP support guided me to this special menu once.

There is a print head alignment routine available on the front panel and also from the web portal.

I have had allot of problems related to the encoder strip which needs frequent cleaning.

Troubleshooting instructions

Troubleshooting instructions

The following instructions are all accessible from the front panel of the printer.

1. Print special diagnostic print to isolate the problem print heads
a. Go to setup menu (This is on the bottom with the printer icon)
b. Once in this menu press the down arrow and cancel button at the same time (Service menu)
c. From the service menu scroll to and enter Service Utilities
d. Enter Diagnostic print
e. Choose Image quality user plot (follow instructions on screen)