QM46/2 Pile height inconsistant

RGPW17100

I have an 11 year old Quick master that is having problems with the feeder. Sometimes it will quit rising and not achieve the pre set height so I do not get a flashing production light. I usually have to lower it about a 1/4 inch then it will go to the correct height. I mainly notice it when feeding envelopes but had it happen multiple times yesterday when I had 60 runs of 10 to run. Sometimes it will be at the correct feeding height and not give me a production light while both units are still making impressions on the blanket. In this case I have to stop the press then restart it and then I see what looks like 20 hits on the blanket. Not sure if these are related. Money where I work is tight and I dont think I can get Heidelberg in to look at it. They used to farm this work out before they bought our company so I am trying to keep costs low in order to keep my job. Any help would be appreciated.

check your feed sensor the one that detects paper in the paper path. there should never be an impression on the impression cylinder of course. but you can set the blanket inking to 0 to 9 revolutions just like dampening and inking. make sure the paper height bar is moving freely. make sure the hand crank is out and loose. take the side cover off the operator side I believe there are a couple of cheap optical sensors that can get junk in them. just a couple suggestions if its an intermittant issue. good luck.