Suggestions on purchasing a wide format printer?

nregnerus

I have been looking at HP Z3200ps, Z6100ps as well as Canon 8000s & 8100. We are looking at expanding our in-house graphics to allow us to print posters and signage for tradeshows. Currently we outsource these projects. I am primarily a one man operation in our department. I am a graphic designer, not a prepress operator.

I would like the projects to be very automated. I need full bleeds and automatic cutting if possible, I don't have other means of trimming and certainly do not have time to manually trim 150 posters. I need quality and reasonable speed. I have received quotes for equipment from various vendors. Does anyone have a basic ballpark for yearly consumables expense (ink/maintenance) for light/medium usage? Depending on the unit additional RIP software is needed. Is there anything I need to know so I don't get in over my head as far as the operation of the equipment goes? Any suggestions on what to buy?

Thanks,
nr

look at getting a UV inkjet printer , preferably a hybrid that will print roll media as well as rigids !! ,i know the Anapurna range does borderless printing which would eliminate having to trim a lot of posters , good luck

there's a roland uv <not a flatbed> roll printer that cuts as well

Roland Debuts World’s First UV Printer/Cutter

as for looking into a UV wide format - I have one myself - well it's a huge market for kit and budgets, so really really be sure you need a UV flatbed/hybrid before heading there

popular names in uv:
agfa anapurna
mimaki
gerber
gandinnovations
oce arizona
fujui acuity
rasstek
durst
spuhl
viewtek

there's loads more. RIPS - well the popular ones are wasatch, onyx and caldera - some have "proprietary" rips, some not