UV inks / Low VOC inks

meddington

We've been having more conversations with clients as of late on "green" printing and requests for information on the inks we use. I'm wondering if ink gurus could give their opinions on the true impact of UV inks versus veg based inks. "No VOCs with UV inks" really sticks in their head, but surely there are other factors...increased energy usage to cure and reduce heat, increase carbon footprint or energy usage to manufacture the ink, increased press maintenance costs...that work to reduce the "no voc" benefit over low VOC veg inks? Anyone care to comment?

Mike:
Just a few thoughts to start the discussion, since I might be off base, and the more I'm wrong, the more we will both learn. I don't work with UV every day. We are a conventional oil based operation with three ink sets, coated, uncoated, and plastic. I am a chemist, and figure that the inks we use for plastic are high solids drying oils, like linseed oil or tung oil.

What I THINK I know about UV inks, well, yeah, they are 100% solids since it all becomes part of the final film after cure. Therefore, no VOC's. The thinning solvents, like acrylates and styrene and a host of other monomers and oligomers, are petroleum by-products, made from that barrel of oil and follows the trend of the gas pumps, and can even get scarce when the world economy is running at a 2006 pace. They cost the printer about 30% more per pound than oil based ink. The initial press installation costs multiple units of 5 zeroes to be UV capable. The electric meters fly at a dizzying pace, when the lamps are on, altho this could be WIND POWER and therefore more expensive. The inks have a shorter shelf life, since the free radical curing reaction can just start all of a sudden. This may be an issue of the past. The inks are harder to handle by the press operators, and the photoinitiators can be pretty toxic. This may be a thing of the past, I hope.