Water resistance of Epson pigment inks - what claims can you make

bhm8hwcm

I am new to the large format market and have bought an Epson 9700 aqueous machine to get my feet wet. I like the speed, size and price of the machine and thought it was a good entry level machine.

I understand this machine is intended for printing more on media used for indoor use however I know some media can be used outside and that the inks are 'water resistant' to a degree and the inks are fade proof.

Any thoughts on what a realistic time period for say a scrim banner material would last outside in the rain etc. or how long it would be before someone saw fading?

Just looking for some general guidelines. Not looking to go head-to-head against solvent printers etc. rather am looking for advice as to what I can promote and feel comfortable with my claims.

I have done some very, very basic tests with matte polypropylene banner and PET backlit film material with the x900 and x800 models, with standard pigment inks (photo and matte black), there was a little bit of bleed/running, however most of the sign was still OK. I think that you will need to do you own tests with your own material and put it through some of your own "weathering" tests. As long as you make it clear to end users that this is not intended for long term signage, you should not have too many issues.

I used to use a HP Designjet 5000, the dye based inks were not intended for outdoor use and they would fade very fast. It could also print UV inks, which were intended for outdoor use and they were a lot better than the dye inks.

Stephen Marsh

Where are you in the world? It really varies on where you are and your climate. I'm in Las Vegas for example and I have to be really careful with fading, but if I were in Seattle then I would hardly have fading to worry about.