Automation Workflow - Which to choose?

Hello everyone,

I work as a pre-press designer in a Carton/paper Packaging Business, and a long time ago I was searching for a good workflow that has my specifications.

Well, I want a workflow that can integrate with a database of my MIS if possible.
Want to create a number for each job I create so I can identify easily (I think this occurs in the most workflow softwares).
Make possible a imposition software can print the number of the job in the package (automatically by "smartmarks").
Create a pdf with all the details I want of one certain job to send to the client or to internal use.

I already had seen a demonstration of the Automation Engine by Esko, it appears to be cool, but first is too expensive (around 40mil dollars) and second it doesn't integrate with my MIS, it only accepts to import a xml file, but If I do a change in automation engine, my MIS doesn't sync and I want to sync.

I want to know which software is better for me. What you recommend?
I searched for brands and I discovered like Enfocus, Agfa, Xerox, Esko, Kodak but there is low information for me to understand which is better.

By the way, PREPS from Kodak is only for books/magazines or is for packaging too? In this moment I'm using Pandora from Kodak, but I do not like much, PREPS seem to be more complete.

integrated Machine JDF to MIS Systems

integrated Machine JDF to MIS Systems

Ricardo