Challenge Titan 200

gwt

Hi all. Reading on these threads has been helpful over the years.
I own a small but busy print shop.
I currently have a Mandelli 30" cutter that has seen better days.
I am looking to get a used cutter to replace it.
I don't necessarily need a cutter that big as I rarely cut full size stock
and can just pay my paper company to do so if need be.
Since space is at a premium in my shop a smaller cutter would help free some room as well.

Key things I'm looking for are accuracy and efficiency. Being able to cut large lifts accurately is key.
Started out looking for a Polar 58 EM but the ones I've found have been a bit pricey.
Want to consider some other options including the Challenge Titan 200 or 230.
I have some knowledge of the Challenge 305 but not the Titan models.
Does anyone have any experience with these that they could recommend or discourage me on them?
It would spend a few hours every day cutting so it would need to be durable.

Thank you for any tips you can offer!!

The Titan 200 and Titan 230 are both very nice cutters for the amount of cutting you state you will be performing. The Titan 200 has been in production since 1997, so they are very widely used in digital in-plants and copy centers.

The Titan 230 was introduced in 2008 to cover the larger digital sheet sizes, and to enhance production cutting. It features a much larger work surface area, the light beams are elevated, and a larger operating width.

If you have any other questions, please feel free to contact us!

-Alex

Titan 200

Titan 200

We use the Challenge Titan 200, it is great for our size. We mainly use 8.5x 11, and also 11x17 sheets.We have had no problems with it.
The safety shield is a hassle, opening and closing every cut.....but safety first!!!:)

The tilt-shield safety device is less expensive than the light-beam safety curtains. If a shop will be doing any kind of production cutting, we highly recommend light-beams.