FSC approved paper - YOU CAN'T CALL IT THAT!

lfelton

I had a rather curious email this morning from "FSC UK" requesting that we remove all reference to FSC and the Forest Stewardship Council from our web site. We make absolutely no claim to be FSC COC certified and neither do we use the FSC logo or any other branding or claim that any of our products are FSC certified. However, under paper description we do give all of the information given to us by the manufacturer and that includes whether the paper is FSC (or PEFC, or NAPM or whatever it is).

However, FSC UK claim the acronym FSC and the words "Forest Stewardship Council" are trademarks and that we may not use them AT ALL unless we pay them a sum of money to become FSC COC certified.

So, presumably this post and hundreds of others, plus hundreds of news articles are infringing their trademark? What are they going to do about it?

Needless to say, I think they are incorrect, but I am not a trademark lawyer so I will be complying with this request. The FSC COC proposal that is sitting on my desk at the moment will also be going into the trash bin!

What do you lot think of the FSC's position on this?

I don't know a lot about trademark law, and it seems heavy handed, but they might be within their rights. They apparently feel the use of the FSC acronym in the context presented on your website is an infringement, and could be misleading to others (that you or your products are certified). I'd see if there's a trademark forum out there to post this question, as it isn't really black and white.

We had so much trouble getting approval on a news blurb about our FSC certification for our website that we just dropped it entirely.

If you're using FSC paper, you must be FSC certified from my understanding.

I am an FSC certified printer and my understanding is that anyone can use FSC paper but you just can't put the acronym on anything or refer to FSC certifed sheets unless you are certified.