Image quality - Canon Imagepress V700

tjasaj

Hello everyone,

I'm very new in the printing business - I do not have a print shop per se, but I make planners & planner stickers for my online shop, so basically all the printing I do is just my own stationery products. I recently upgraded from an old Xerox C500 to two new Canon printers: Varioprint115 (which I absolutely ADORE) and an Imagepress V700.

I use Imagepress mostly for printing planner stickers, greetings cards and so on. Since the beginning the image quality was not exactly like I imagined it to be(still a thousand times better than on my old Xerox), but it wasn't a huge deal breaker for me - now i have a bit more time and would like to learn what can I do to make it better.
I'm printing mostly on uncoated self-adhesive paper (Ritrama by Fedrigoni) and matte coated 300-350gsm paper (Symbol Satin by Fedrigoni). I'm noticing the printed graphic looks a bit "spotty", especially lighter colors. If I try to make, for example, light beige stickers - it just looks super dull and the printed surface is not smooth, looks a bit blotchy. The black color is not exactly black, but muted black etc.

I'm guessing the culprit might be the paper - I'm sure the quality would be better if I used a glossy paper, but I would prefer to stick to matte/uncoated, becuse most of my stickers are supposed to be written on. Are there any tips and tricks you can give me as far as what could I do to make quality a bit better? Unfortunately, I don't know much about the art of print - I try to educate myself with stuff I find online, but information can be very sparse.

I design in Illustrator in CMYK and export to high quality PDF. On my printer I always set image quality to 1200 dpi before printing. That's pretty much all I normally do. :(

I apologize for a very newbie question 🫠 Thank you in advice to anybody who will take the time to help me out ❤️

A few things to note: