Preferred image file format for InDesign CS4

Dave-Designer

From a prepress perspective, is there a preferred file format (TIF, EPS, JPG) for raster images using InDesign CS4? I am a designer for a large retailer creating your typical Sunday newspaper inserts. I am trying to establish a consistent file-saving protocol for our production workflow, but would like some opinions on what would be best, or if it even matters. We switched from Quark to InDesign about 2 yrs ago and have a lot of legacy assets in EPS. We started having problems with InDesign CS3 dropping clipping paths, so we started saving them as TIFs. In addition, 90% of our images are vendor supplied JPGs. We rarely place native Photoshop files since most images are flattened, and we don't do any color management other than saving files with SWOP profiles.

For the record, due to "office politics", it's just too difficult to get a straight answer from my printer's prepress department, so I'm resorting to this post. And, as a designer who used to work prepress in a major printing operation, I totally respect your side of the business and take pride in creating clean, error-free digital files!
Thanks for the input.

If you wanna have all possibilities in the whole CS suit its always the best to save and link files in their native format.
This means if you wanna link a Illustrator file save it as Illustrator .ai and link it in Indesign.
The same for Photoshop files, save the Photoshop file as a native .psd file and link it in Indesign.

Anything but EPS!

Anything but EPS!

TIF would be my pick!

We've had some really strange problems with EPS-files in Indesign CS2-CS4. Images that flips, gets lowres randomly, paths jumping around. And colormanagement doesn't work (if you one day would start using it).

EPS has serious limitations, and since they can contain RGB, CMYK, managed unmanaged but all work flattened usually without control I would say the risk outweights the benifit.