Printing letterhead on color printers

jecraig5

Hello, I am new to the digital production side, I am more of a prepress/offset guy. My question is that the advantage to running letterhead on an offset press is that you can run the letterhead thru a laser printer and there was no problem. If you ran the letterhead thru a laser printer and then ran it back thru the toner would streak and cause problems. Is this still true, or has the newer models of printers fixed this issue?

To be clear, I am running a Canon 5185 and the client has a 3 color letterhead that they want 500 of. My little 3200 ryobi with a t-51, this starts to be expensive with 2 passes and pretty tight registration.

I wouldn't say running it on offset will cause no problem when running it through a laser printer later. The ink comes off on the rollers and causes jams.

Once again a copier tech. speaking like a copier tech!

I will NEVER print anything for my customer with toner that needs to be run back through a toner device. You are asking for trouble.

Now with regards to mseager's comment. It depends on what type of ink was used to and how long it has dried. Many of the inks are laser safe after 72 hours of drying. I have run shells through my RICOH MP9000 in runs as high as 100,000 sheets. Does the ink pull off on the rollers, yup. Is it difficult to clean, nope. That's a far cry from 500 sheets too.