TVI in Highlights

Bill W

We are running a poly substrate on a flexo press. Raw measurement data analyzed in ColorAnt indicates gain at 2% (1.96% in report) to be 22 - 24%. Press target was IT8.7-4.

After I make a profile, using iProfiler, I check the gain at 2% in ColorThink and it indicates it is around 7%.

When I apply the profile to an IT8.7-4 reference file in ColorThink and then check saved data in ColorAnt it also shows a gain of around 7%.

Using this profile in CGS grossly misrepresents my highlight areas until I built a radical highlight gain curve in CGS.

Help me in understanding why my profile does not match real press TVI.

-Bill-

I'm not an expert in the particular software you're using, but one possibility is that ICC profiles for presses commonly use a lookup table and interpolate linearly for the great majority of coordinates. If the lookup table has a resolution of 9, then the data would be interpolated from stored values for 0% and 12.5%. If you have a LUT profile, determine the resolution (LUT size), then compare values at 100 / (resolution - 1)%. If it's much closer, linear interpolation may be the problem. Usually this is compensated for in the profile by input channel curves that change the numbers before moving on to the LUT. It depends on the quality of the algorithms the software uses, and the settings you chose when creating the profile.

Bill, when you say you are using your profile in CGS, do you mean this press profile is used for proofing in CGS ORIS ColorTuner?

If so, what is the whitepoint L*a*b* value of the poly substrate and what is the whitepoint L*a*b* value of the proofing media?

Are you using the ICC option when proofing, or the native ORIS DAT colour table option which uses the ICC as a target?

Stephen Marsh