Upgrading

cghelton

Hi everyone,

I work for a medium size flexo company. We have 15 narrow web flexo presses. I'm a pre-press tech and do all the art work also. And also CAD stuff. :D

Anywho, We are wanting to upgrade all of our pre-press software. Mainly CS5.5, Mac OS Leopard to Snow Leopard, ALSO our ECRM RIP sw from 6.2 TO 8.1.

From what I've been reading, after upgrading to Snow Leopard, we will lose Appletalk. My main question is how will we get the Mac to communicate to the RIP workstation without Appletalk? I've read something about spooling the files to the work station? If that's the case, can someone explain how that would be done?

We have a MAC PRO with 2X 2.66 GHZ Dual-Core Intel Xenon with 4 gig of ram.

Any help would be appreciated!

Thanks,

Curtis

You will lose Appletalk when upgrading to Snow Leopard or Lion. To make sure the RIP can process everything you are sending over, it is best to upgrade the RIP at the same time as upgrading the design computers. Version 9 is the latest version of the RIP and would give you compatibility with all of the newer design applications including Adobe CS 5.5. You can find out more about the differences between v.6 and v.9 on the following page:

Harlequin RIP Upgrades, Harlequin RIP Upgrade, Harlequin RIP Updates, RIP Software Update, RIP Updates, Postscript 3 Upgrades

Thanks RTI,
We will be upgrading to the latest RIP software. I'm still confused on how the Mac is going to communicate with the rip workstation which is running windows 2000 without having appletalk.

You mac can connect using the SMB protocol. It's faster than apple talk and more desirable. To directly go to a machine, address would look like smb://windowscomputer/sharedfolder.

To share files on your mac, go to the System Prefs, and select Sharing. Then click options. You can enable Windows sharing (SMB) on your mac there.