What is the right 1 color press to "learn on"

crossroads

I am a small print broker. I currently have a a color copier for short runs and a digital duplicator used mostly for envelopes. Most of my jobs are sent out. I am interested in buying a 1 or 2 color press mostly for envelope runs between 500- 10m as they cannot through a copier and i am unhappy with
the quality from my digital duplicator.
Question #1) I often see for sale multi 1250's from closing printers for <$1000. Is this a machine i can learn to run easily? This will be my first time trying my hand at offset. I don't want to invest a lot of money until i see i can learn how to run it. I also see presses from ab dick and hamada for not much more. are any of these easier or harder to run? also can they all produce sell-able prints. I understand i would need a compac or crestline watering system.

Question #2) if i plan on using laser plates does that mean i can only buy a printer smaller than 12x19. can i use a smaller plate on a larger printer?

Thanks

LW means Long and Wide. This was an 11 x 17 machine as opposed to 8.5 x 14.

A Compact will make it easier. We put one on ours later on. I don't know if there is a Crestline for it, but that would be even better.

Try to get one with chain delivery. A lot of them were gravity chute deliveries. We put a genuine Multylith chain on ours much latter on.

Good luck,

Al

Hamada 665 be a good choice also, just remember you get what you pay for. Buying someone else's junk would be hard to learn on..
Chuck

Is a hamada rs34ls similiar to that? I see one for sale not too far from me. Does anyone have any experience with them?
Thanks

I think I'll go buy myself a t-square and call myself an architect.

At least call it a press, not a "printer".

Well, by the dictionary, yes. But in the trade that person is called a pressman (pressperson), or press operator.

Al