writeable uv coating

bhm8hwcm

Hi I was wondering if people are having success with writeable UV coatings. For years I have printing gang run bus cards, postcards etc with a gloss AQ. I put in the coater in to handle the coating.

I am fairly new to UV coating and am presently mixing a high gloss writeable UV coating with a matte UV coating to get a desired gloss level close to an AQ as I have not wanted to make the full switch to high gloss UV.

The AQ was writeable which was a nice feature. The UV is supposed to be writeable and it is to a certain degree but it is very fussy dependent on pen used etc. It is not as forgiving as the AQ.

I was wondering what kind of success others have had and if they can recommend certain brands that work well.

Been doing UV for some time now, Prisco has a good writeable gloss uv. As far as mixing the gloss to produce a satin why not just go with a HIGH gloss AQ. UV coating is not cheap and if your trying to give a AQ apperance?? Just currious.

Thanks for the reply. I will look into the prisco uv product.

The reason I am doing UV now is so that I could run the coating offline. I only have a 4 color press and so I was running an ink train AQ as a 2nd pass but I wanted to free up press time so I put in the coater.

I put in a roller coater and have been advised they are best for UV and not AQ. AQ is possible but the cleanup is much more involved so I wanted to stick to UV.

Running a straight satin UV was too matte for me and that is why I cut the high gloss writeable UV with about 20% matte to get the look i want. Just want it a little more writeable.

Most UV coatings are not writeable. Even the writeable UV coating will be a little fussy toward certain pens. Your coating manufacturer will need to recommend you their product that is writeable in a viscosity that will work well in your coating unit. I recommend that you contact your local Kelstar representative or call their tech line.