Need suggestions on Preflight Routine with PitStop Pro 12

Hello there!

We are an Offset print industry with an wide range of customers, by that we receive many sorts of files to print, and literally sometimes we need to do some hat tricks to crack down errors on files before it reaches our printers.

By that, we are considering on adopting a preflight routine on every file, and I really would like to know if you guys have Suggestions on which points should we check with PitStop Pro 12.
Here we work with Prinect, PDF Flow and a TopSetter 74.

As you can probably notice, I'm not an expert at the subject, so if someone need more data, please let me know!

Thank you for the support!

PitStop ships with default sets which are pretty good. To start, look at a PDF/X standard. The downside is that there is a good chance that you are not being sent PDF/X files and you may receive errors/warnings that are PDF/X specific. I hope that you do request PDF/X files though (either X-1a, X-3 or X-4).

I am not sure if you are just looking to preflight – or preflight+fix, which are two different things.

The next place I would look is a Ghent Work Group (GWG) preflight profile. PitStop has those too, or you can download them from here:

Application Settings - Ghent Workgroup

PitStop also has good “generic” preflight profiles too.

Depending on your needs, you may wish to modify preflight profiles, adding or removing checks and fixes, or changing warnings to errors or vice versa.

Stephen Marsh

Well it's funny you should post this. I'm just about to plan a webinar on this very topic.

If you have PitStop 12 you should have been invited to participate in an online survey, the reward for which is an invitation to a series of webinars we have been running throughout the year.

If you send me an email I will make sure you get a link for it. If you've already filled it out then you'll automatically get an invitation.

Some ideas:

Set all white elements to knockout