Best way to specify color to print vendors?

chad.trent

A little background first...

I've been working in the printing industry for more than 20 years - mostly in prepress in the offset sheet-fed sector. For the last year I've been at a plant that does corrugated boxes/packaging/displays/etc. We do flexo printing in house, but order out our litho sheets and top sheets. We work with multiple vendors due to size limitations, costs, etc. It's pretty common for us to order part of a job from one vendor and part from another. Obviously this is opening itself up to problems when we have to guarantee that the printing we get from vendor A matches the printing we get from vendor B.

A lot of our work is spot color or CMYK+spot. Spot colors have been our biggest hurdle. So, our procedure as of now is to specify a PMS color and then also provide LAB values for that color and tell the vendors we expect all printed material to be within 2 delta E of the lab values we provide. We also spec the paper we want our jobs printed on.

So far that has worked, but we are hearing now that LAB values are calculated differently by different devices, and that if the spectro we use is not the exact same as the printer uses, there is no guarantee we are going to be getting the same color.

We have been researching the best way to specify color for over a year, and we can't seem to find good information on the best way to do it. We have talked to three or four "experts" and received three or four completely different theories as to how to do it, and each person told us why their method was correct and the other methods were flawed.

So, I'm trying to find out what is the best way to guarantee that a certain PMS color from one vendor is going to be the same from another vendor and what is the best way to communicate that to our vendors so that we can get consistent color.

leading with this - I am NOT an expert.