Changing cmyk photo to pure 100% black

dominique

I am trying to change CMYK photos in Photoshop. I have the files as 300dpi psd documents.

The image is of a person and the background shadows appear gray and white. I need to make the entire back ground (a white blanket and white back ground) K only (no CMY).

This will be printed flexo on a plastic substrate. The printer requires at least 2% K in all of the white areas. I have masked the human so it will print CMYK. But when I tried to make the background grayscale in K only it won't work. It keeps all the color channels to create the grayscale.

I tried desaturating...to no avail. I also opened the document separately changing it to grayscale. I have also tried making it a bitmap (but this won't work as it loses the photo quality my client wants)

I am desperately trying to figure out how to do this.

Does anyone know how to help without explaining too much on the printer end since I am just a graphic designer trying to make sure I give them EXACTLY what they need! :)

I appreciate the help!

Two quick tips when working in CMYK mode:

Use a channel mixer adjustment layer and layer mask, set the channel mixer to grayscale, double check that all tones where required are K only.

Select the K channel only, then paste in the data that was converted to grayscale - rather than pasting into the composite CMYK channel. Again, you will likely need a mask to isolate the CMYK areas from the K only areas.

EDIT: There should be enough K data in the CMYK area so that misregistration "white gaps" will not show against the K only areas, even more so for flexo work where registration tolerances are greater.

It sounds like your role is not just "graphic designer" - as you are being asked to perform prepress duties (precise CMYK builds), so you will have to learn "stuff at the printer end".

Hope this helps,

Stephen Marsh

Last edited:
In photoshop go to image-->mode-->grayscale.