HELP!! Goss Metroliner, Ink build up on waterformers

cowboytoddroe

I am a Press operator and run a Goss Metroliner. We are having issues with ink building up on our waterformers and constantly have to scrape them. Our ink values are computer controlled and preset for each job. We have brushes that transfer the water solution as opposed to spray bars. The problem is on all units on the Blue and Yellow mostly, but Red and Black also have ink on the water formers, it just isnt as much of a problem. We hardly ever have to scrape those. What could be causing this? There is no ink in the water pans that I can tell. Where is that ink coming from? It has been like this the whole 3 years I have been here. I used to work on an Urbanite that had sock rollers and we never had this Issue. Is it just the nature of having brushes? Thats what the maintenance guys are saying, but I dont buy it. Thanks for your replys.

Ink formulas may have snookered tapper in good old fashioned H2O.
Just a S.W.A.G. SWAG= Scientific Wild Ass Guess

Gimme a little more information, we'll check the INK first, which is certainly prim and proper. Let's have it, as much as possible.

D

So you want to know the type of ink we are using? I know it comes from USA INK. I do not know the chemistry or mix of the ink. I will ask around. I know that the fountain solution is Liquid Gold. I have been taught that the ink and fountain solution must be compatable and have brought this up to management. They have been using this combination for years. There are really no other issues with this pairing they are using. plates clean up fairly quickly and no scumming. It almost seems to me though that the solution on the water formers should repel the ink from them. It doesnt. The ink pans are cleaned regularly so its not coming from there. I will ask what they have the continuity at. Does that help you help me? And thanks so much for replying.

Supplier of ink and nomenclature, description please.