Looking to Learn

As I mentioned in a post several months back, I am slowly transitioning to working with my father's offset printing company. I will be handling the sales and marketing, as he does not currently have anyone in this capacity. I expect to start in July or August and in the meantime I am looking to learn and receive any tips I can.

Can anyone direct to any books or other resources that will help me learn more about sales and marketing in the industry, pricing guides that may be widely used, etc? Really anything that will help start improving my understanding of the industry in general. I am not completely unknowledgable, as I have been around the business my whole life and spent the last two years learning more and more but obviously I need to know the ins and outs. Selling is natural to me, as I am a sales manager for a software company now, but learning the industry you are selling to is necessary for credibility. Any recommendations would be great.

Also- do any of the industry associations have mentoring programs for new members or services of connecting new members will experienced companies in any way? I would like to see about spending some time in another operation for a day and learning how a well established company operates. I know many industries offer programs like this through their associations.

Thanks,
Frank Jr.

Check out NAQP (National Association of Quick Printers) as well as PIA or SGIA all organizations in our industry for education on all levels.

A few names I have come across for sales and marketing are Dave Fellman, Nick Devine, and Peter Ebner. I am sure there are plenty more.

A bit behind on the timeline, I know, but I would definitely second the sentiments of postnetnc... contact NAPL and ask to speak with someone concerning a course of study exactly as you described. Custom-created education programs such as you described, are right up their alley.