Paper whiteness

HarveyDunn

Hello, I'm a designer, looking for input on some questions so that I can do a better job of designing a color-critical project and getting it printed correctly.

Today's question: I assume that an ICC profile is premised on a certain color or whiteness of paper. So if I have a file that I know that I want printed using the GRACoL profile, and if I have found a printing company that says yes, they will print it useing the GRACoL profile, how do I check to confirm that the paper they are proposing to use is actually correct for the job?

And, while I am at it: how to check that the proof paper is also the same whiteness as that which is to be used for the job itself?

Last edited:
Thank you.

How do I double check that the paper the print shop are recommending for use in my project has the correct characteristics for the GRACoL profile?

Thank you.

How do I double check that the paper the print shop are recommending for use in my project has the correct characteristics for the GRACoL profile?

IMHO the whiteness of the paper, assuming a #1 coated paper is not an issue since our eyes auto-white balance. The issue that you may have is related to brightness. Most papers used for offset printing use optical brightening agents to make the paper appear bright. Most proofing papers do not include those OBAs. So the appearance of the press work compared wih the proof can disconnect quite dramatically under different lighting conditions i.e. lighting that contains different amounts of UV energy.
More info here:
http://the-print-guide.blogspot.ca/2009/03/issues-of-optical-brightening-agents-in.html

AFAIK, due to the OBA issue, no paper meets the ISO specified print condition that the GRACoL profile is based on.

Gordo

Last edited: