Print run troubles, that has an influence on the finishing process

Sterndorff

I am a student at The Graphic Arts Institute of Denmark, working on my final project. In cooperation with a Danish finisher, I am writing about what troubles and consequences the finisher face, when the print runs received does not meet up with the demands for a satisfactory binding process.

The troubles, I have noted, has to do with smudging, due to un-dry print, or lack of varnish, and with lack of trimmings.

These issues result in send-backs of print runs, either to be completely redone, or additionally processed, i.e. with varnish. In other cases delay, if the print runs need time to dry.

I am interested in learning if the debaters of PrintPlanet, have similar experiences, with print run problems that delay production or has an impact on the quality. Of what kind, and how are they usually handled? Additionally, I would like to hear from persons who have needed to involve legal aid, because of a dispute as a result of this matter.

I gladly invite non-finishers to join in, as it is interesting to hear both sides of the story.