Wasatch SoftRIP (Dual CMYK how?) Please Help!

NKL

Hello all,

I am pretty new at this,

I am currently using the Wasatch SoftRIP for my Epson 9880.
Under the profiles, I was not able to find one that enable Dual CMYK mode. (I was only able to find just single CMYK).

Is there a way to edit the profiles to use Dual CMYK?

The profile shouldn't know or care about the printer configuration; CMYK is CMYK, regardless of the printer setup, the number of actual inks used to produce the four colors. Those details are handled in the RIP. However, the results will be different, as in the dual mode on a 9880 you have no light inks. You cannot edit a profile to mimic this behavior; you must obtain or make a new profile for this mode, which also will of course require its own linearization file for the media you are printing on.

you must obtain or make a new profile for this mode, which also will of course require its own linearization file for the media you are printing on.

Thank you for your reply Mike,

My intentions is to print with 8 colours (C,M,Y,K,LC,LM,LK,LLK) for art reproduction and photography prints for some jobs, and with others (Dye Sublimation), print with Dual CMYK with Dye-Sublimation ink by swapping cartridges to CMYK in the LC,LM,LK,LLK cartridge slot.

So i will be swapping ink cartridges from time to time.

As mentioned from your quote above, How do I create a new profile for the dual CMYK mode?

Wasatch website has a pdf that shows the "custom inset tab" per instructions "http://www.wasatch.com/pdf/creatingCustomInksets.pdf".

Strangely, mine doesn't seem to have the "custom inkset tab" when i edit printer profiles for my 9880 (or even 4880)

I currently have the newest version 6.5.

thank you veryvery much for any advice, i've seem to be stuck with this situation.

Wasatch, Profiloing Dual CMYK

Wasatch, Profiloing Dual CMYK

Hi NKL,