Help me in choosing a press

KVS Setty

Hello to all,

I am new here and in digital press area, I am in the business of photo printing and finishing since 25 years using Noritsu Koki printers.

Now planning to diversify my business by putting a digital press in addition to my regular photo lab business.

Since I am looking for a entry level light production system with a average print capacity in the range of 25000 to 50000 per month.
After little bit of study about the various models and players, I have short listed my choice to following three devices.

# KM6501/KM6501p/KM65hc

# Canon ImageRunner Advance Pro c9070/ c9060

# Xerox700

But from here finding it difficult to make a decision on to a particular one model, so your help is much needed in this regard ,for me to go ahead with the expansion plan.

please note I am very new to this field and really don't know who are going to be my customers and I just know that I will be serving on-demand short run variable data printing sector.

Also planning to test it as a alternative printing technology to make photobooks, which is very hot product in our industry now.

your suggestions and help is very valuable to me.

Thanks.

Last edited:
KVS, my suggestion would be to run your own familiar images on all the machines. For photo printing, paper stock is going to be a signifact deciding factor for you, especially if what you know is Noritsu output.

Initially, choose stock that you feel you want to reproduce onto and then run same files/images on all the machines you are considering. This way you will have both an objective and ultimately a subjective basis of comparison. Specs alone won't give you a true matrix of comparison.

From the 3 models you are looking at, I think Xerox and KM have the lead. The Canon product was launched a few months ago and still have something to proof in the "Light Production" arena.

Probably, based on the brochures, the 3 models are capable of producing what you need.