problem on three knife trimmer

mazengh

we are having a problem on our three knife trimmers (we have two, one is modern, the other is old). we are getting chipped edges. we tried installing new knives, it didn't help, we tried different settings, we even tried different films of side and spine glues... but still can't find the issue, can someone give a hint what it could be? I have attached images that show the problem.

Attachments

• IMG_20140214_202004.jpg
    IMG_20140214_202004.jpg
    1.2 MB · Views: 310
  • IMG_20140214_202011.jpg
    IMG_20140214_202011.jpg
    1.2 MB · Views: 284
Have you not always had this problem? Maybe the glue brand has to do with it. Anyway, the glue film looks heavy to me, but I am no expert.

Al

we tried different glues... the side isn't an issue as it doesn't get to the edges... just the spine. we also tried less glue, didn't solve it.

At the previous company I worked at, we encountered the same issue. Sorry, but we were never able to resolve it. Obviously the more the nailhead, the worse it would be. Making the book block on the bottom of the clamp the exact same size, gave us the best results.

You don't give many details on the type of equipment, but I'll assume this is a hotmelt binder. Here's a suggestion:

Set a handful of books aside for a few extra minutes, then trim them as normal. If this helps, you may look into slowing down your cooling conveyors to allow the hotmelt to cool a bit more before trimming.

Also, if you're running a Zenith trimmer, I do recall some kind of attachment that could be installed near the side knives that would pre-cut the cover before the main knives came down.

we have a 2006 kolbus HD trimmer, it's got those side knives. I had the technician check if they are installed correctly. question... what type of material is used for the book block that the books down? we use some kind of thick gray cardboard.. we also tried waiting for the glue to fully dry, but it didn't help